Local

Pant’s dropped catches prove costly at SCG

India wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant has fumbled two chances to dismiss Will Pucovski at the SCG, where the third umpire overturned the Test debutant’s dismissal after poring over footage of a claimed catch.

Pant dropped a regulation edge offered by Pucovski on 26, when the young gun misread a delivery from offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

The gloveman seemingly made amends three overs later.

Pucovski was on 32 and gloved Mohammed Siraj’s bouncer, with the tourists celebrating after a diving Pant tried to reel in a juggled catch.

The umpires’ soft signal was out.

India celebrated again upon watching replays on the big screen but third umpire Bruce Oxenford ruled the “ball is definitely on ground” and Pucovski remained at the crease.

India picked Wriddhiman Saha, dubbed the “best gloveman in the world” by coach Ravi Shastri, ahead of Pant for the series opener at Adelaide Oval.

The visitors opted to recall Pant for the Boxing Day Test, strengthening their batting order at the cost of the quality of their keeper.

Ricky Ponting, who captained a side that encountered plenty of controversy over claimed catches during a handful of heated Tests against India, queried whether Oxenford made the right call on Thursday.

“I’m not sure how you can say that’s definitely hit the ground,” Ponting said during commentary on the Seven Network.

“We can’t actually see the bottom of his right glove.”

The on-field verdict meant that Oxenford needed to find conclusive evidence to overturn the dismissal.

What's your reaction?

Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0

You may also like

More in:Local

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *