Djokovic, Nadal headline ATP Cup field

Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal will headline the field for next month’s ATP Cup in Melbourne.

A dozen countries, including Australia who will be spearheaded by Alex de Minaur, will compete in the men’s team tournament from February 1-5.

The inaugural event was played last year in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney and won by Djokovic’s Serbia over Nadal’s Spain, with the world’s top two ranked players squaring off in the final.

Due to COVID-19 the entire tournament will take place at Melbourne Park alongside two WTA 500 and two ATP 250 events the week before the Australian Open.

The draw will take place on January 20, when the 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three for group stage, round-robin play.

The four group winners will advance to the semi-finals.

Qualification for the 2021 ATP Cup is based on the ATP ranking of each country’s top-ranked singles player, while Australia qualifies by virtue of a host wildcard.

World No.23 de Minaur leads the local line-up that made the semi-finals last year.

He will be joined by John Millman, John Peers and Luke Saville, with Nick Kyrgios not taking part.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

More in:Local

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *